Connect with us

Sports News

FIFA Club World Cup final: Thiago Silva, others win individual awards as Chelsea defeat Palmeiras



Chelsea defender, Thiago Silva, on Saturday, won Player of the FIFA Club World Cup tournament (Golden Ball) award and also Player of the match award after his side defeated Palmeiras in the final.

Silva beat the likes of Palmeiras stars, Dudu and Danilo to win the Golden Ball award.

However, Dudu and Danilo won the Silver and Bronze Ball awards respectively for second and third place best players of the tournament.

Chelsea captain, César Azpilicueta, won the FIFA Fair Play award.

Chelsea defeated Palmeiras 2-1 at the Mohammed Bin Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, to win their first FIFA Club World Cup.

Romelu Lukaku and Raphael Veiga scored for both Chelsea and Palmeiras to ensure both teams played a 1-1 draw after 90 minutes.

But Kai Havertz scored a late penalty in the second half of extra-time to ensure Chelsea defeated the Brazilian side to win the FIFA Club World Cup.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2021

%d bloggers like this: